Categories
About me Book Illustration Collage Illustration Photography Uncategorized

A little bit about me…

Hello! So I am Hannah Kenyon, an Illustrator from West Yorkshire. Last year I graduated from my Illustration BA course at York St. John University. Currently I am doing a Masters in Children’s Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin University.

My general interests are in painting (watercolour and acrylic), collage, printmaking and coloured pencil work.  Mostly I just love working with anything I can find (so hide your magazines!). Life influences me (I know that sounds cheesy), whether it be the squirrel that looks at me from my windowsill or Vincent Van Gogh’s colour pallet. I mostly capture these things on camera for later use. However, I have recently been told in my Masters that it is best to observe from life. You can imagine my dismay as I thought about all the thousands of pictures I have collected over the years… But I still use them. After all, method can differ from person to person.

My main focus for the time being is book Illustration due to my degree, but I happily dapple in all categories. I have previously done greetings cards, say hi to Michael Baublé:

Michael Bauble 148mm x 148mm

and have also done pattern and surface design. I find joy in creating things and seeing people enjoy them.

I am currently working on a parody of an Agatha Christie novel using the before mentioned windowsill-squirrel as my protagonist. The project is so fun as I absolutely love Agatha Christies stories and I can’t wait to tell you more about it soon.

I would love to know what you all are working on at the moment, please let me know in the comments!

By Hannah Kenyon

I am an Illustrator from West Yorkshire currently doing a Masters in Children's Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin University.

Leave a comment